## **JASMINA METWALY**

Artist Talk | Prize Ceremony

12.12.2024 | 19:30

secession









www.secession.at

www.sussmannfoundation.org

## The Sussmann Foundation awards Jasmina Metwaly the 5th International Anni and Heinrich Sussmann Award

**ARTIST TALK** by the prize winner

on Thur, Dec. 12th, 2024 at 19:30h at Secession

Jasmina Metwaly (b. 1982, Warsaw) is an Egyptian-Polish artist and filmmaker based between Berlin, Cairo and Szczecin. Her practice spans film, video, performance, and theater, with a strong focus on socially engaged, process-driven work that actively involves participants and audiences. Utilizing diverse materials such as texts, archives, scripts, and images, Metwaly crafts narratives that explore the transgressive nature of images, their evolution behind the camera, and their impact on collective memory. Her work interrogates artistic methodologies, the archiving of images, and how narratives transform when deconstructed, blurring the boundaries between documentation and fiction. Metwalv's work has been featured at the Townhouse Gallery, Carthage Film Festival, FID Marseille, Bozar, SAWY Contemporary, Latin Arab International Festival de Cine Latino Árabe, Jeu de Paume, MoMA, the Venice Biennale, Forum Expanded, Cannes, and Rotterdam, In 2022. she was an artist-in-residence at Villa Romana and has been pursuing a PhD at the Academy of Art in Szczecin since 2024. She is also a member of the Mosireen Collective and the media archive https://858.ma.

Axel Stockburger (A) welcome words Ronen Eidelman (IL, USA) laudatory speech; Friedemann Arbel Derschmidt moderation: Bread & Wine will be served after the event

## The Anni and Heinrich Sussmann Foundation

was founded in 1989 following the will of Heinrich Sussmann to support artists who are committed to the ideal of democracy and antifascism: Artists taking a stand, provoking, creating a dialog, annoying, interpreting, making space, telling stories, shedding light on hidden spaces, in order to resist powers that try to limit freedom, equality, and democracy. They are the ones that are seldomly getting support.

## The annual Sussmann ARTIST AWARD

will be awarded to an artist/artist-group based on their current work. The artist(s) will be chosen from a shortlist recommended by our group of advisers (The Committee) selected based on their commitment to the principles of the Anni and Heinrich Sussmann Foundation and their experience, and knowledge. A jury of a minimum of three artists decides about the acceptance of the price.

Previous winners of the prize are: Minna Henriksson (FIN); Khaled Jarrar (PAL); and Marina Napruschkina (BLR, DEU). Heba Y. Amin (EGY, DEU)



Committee 2024: Heba Y. Amin (EGY, DEU); Minna Henriksson (FIN); Nat Muller (NLD, GBR); Marina Napruschkina (BLR, DEU); Ivor Stodolsky (FRA, DEU, FIN); Eve Sussman (USA, GBR); Lior Zalmanson (ISR)

**operating board of trustees:** Friedemann Arbel Derschmidt, Daniela Zobel, Ronen Eidelman

https://www.sussmannfoundation.org / +43 699 1012 6035